(hot) Fudge you

Another day, another blog post that I should have taken more pictures of. Such is life.

I had today off work and had many grand plans for all the things I would accomplish today. I was going to finish my monthly meal plan (done & too be published for your enjoyment soon), go grocery shopping for next week, do some yoga (did that too), finish the laundry, get the kitchen clean, and make a fantastic dinner.

And then it snowed. And I accomplished nothing.

“But, Kitten! Half of those projects take place inside your own home! There’s nary an excuse for accomplishing squat!”

Well. Fudge you.

And I do not mind if I do.20160111_225143

This is a recipe I go back to time and time again. It’s rich, it’s delicious. It’s utterly sinful. All qualities I look for in a dessert. The ingredients are simple:

  • 6 oz Chocolate (use the fancy stuff. You know you want to.)
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • Pinch Salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup half & half

Use the fancy chocolate. You can chop up a bar or get the nice chocolate chips. I’m want to use whatever the fudge (see what I did there?) I have laying around the pantry, today it was Hershey’s. I recommend Hershey’s, Ghirardelli, or literally anything that is not Nestle. (Stop buying their products or stop thinking of yourself as a decent human being. The choice is yours.) I used milk chocolate today, but semi-sweet or dark chocolate is my favorite.20160111_210150

Simply measure out your ingredients, and throw everything into a blender or food processor excluding the half & Half.

Place your half & half into a 2 cup sized microwave safe measuring cup (or larger form of microwavable dish). Nuke that sucker for 90 seconds on high.

Pour your hot milk into your blender, and immediately blend on medium power for 1 minute. Scrape down the sides and blend again for 1 more minute.20160111_205815

Pour it into an air tight container and eat it with a spoon store in the fridge for up to two weeks. Honestly, I don’t think it’ll last you that long.

The fudge will thicken when it cools, but just heat it in the microwave gently (for about 15 seconds at a time. For real.) and it’ll be a nice runny consistency again. Perfect for pouring over ice cream, fancy bars, or into fancy cocktails. This recipe makes approximately 1 cup of hot fudge.
20160111_225143

“Kitten, why didn’t you take more (or any really) pictures of this recipe? And while I’m at it, there’s certainly less than 1 Cup of fudge in those pictures!” Because I was busy pouring this delectable hot fudge into an ice cream base, smarty pants. Hold your hats, friends. ETA on that post is tomorrow. It’s gonna be big.

Easy Home Made Hot Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz chocolate
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • Dash Salt
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Half&Half
  1. Place chocolate, butter, vanilla, sugar, and salt in blender.
  2. In microwavable dish, heat half&half on high for 90 seconds.
  3. Pour immediately into blender. Blend on medium for 1 minute.
  4. Scrape down sides of blender & blend again for 1 minute.

This recipe can be found in it’s original format here.

Leave a Reply

